Salutes Women in Music from Oklahoma​

s.h.i.n.e. dOCUMENTARY


Watch the S.H.I.N.E. Documentary

SHINE Salutes Oklahoma Women Music Stars

November 27, 2018

12 Lady Music Stars to Attend!

The SHINE Foundation in a joint partnership with Kendall's Restaurant, the Oklahoma History Center, and the Oklahoma Music Hall of Fame will be hosting a tribute to women from Oklahoma in music on Tuesday, Nov. 27th.  First with a lunch and ceremony at the Oklahoma History Center beginning at noon.  Eight lady music legends will be inducted into the Oklahoma Music Hall of Fame.  Currently 12 artists have confirmed, additional headliners may be added at a later date.  At 630pm that evening the stars will gather again along with the children and family members of nine deceased lady singers to unveil their display showcases for what is planned to be a permanent new exhibit in the Kendall's restaurant.  The exhibit seeks to pay homage to more than 20 of the some 43 documented female music stars who hail from Oklahoma.  All proceeds from the combined events will benefit the SHINE Foundation.

Confirmed Artists:

1.            Wanda Jackson
2.            Jody Miller
3.            Gail Davies
4.            Norma Jean
5.            Becky Hobbs
6.            Jana Jae
7.            Kellie Coffey
8.            Barbara McAlister
9.            Gayla Peevey
10.          Katrina Elam
11.          Leona Mitchell
12.          Samantha Crain

Family Members Attending on an Artists Behalf:

1.            Sammi Smith (daughter)
2.            Jean Shepard (son)
3.            Gus Hardin (daughter)
4.            Kay Starr (daughter)
5.            Lorrie Collins (Daughters)
6.            Patti Page (Possibly her nephew)
7.            Cassie Gains (brother)
8.            Molly Bee (son)
9.            Evelyn Pittman (nephew)


Kendall’s Restaurant
Oklahoma History Center
Oklahoma Music Hall of Fame
Institute of Economic Empowerment of Women (IEEW)
Oklahoma History Historical Music Trials
Oklahoma Arts Council
Oklahoma Creativity Forum
Oklahoma Tourism Department

Other pending invitations to Oklahoma artists may result in additional announcements at a later date, but already with these confirmed stars the Oklahoma History Center has declared this will be the largest gathering of Oklahoma female stars in history.

Artists that will be Inducted into the 2018 Class of the Oklahoma Music Hall of Fame:

1.            Jody Miller
2.            Gail Davies
3.            Gayla Peevey
4.            Katrina Elam
5.            Gus Hardin
6.            Lorrie Collins (of the Collins Kids)
7.            Kellie Coffey
8.            Evelynn Pittman
9.            Molly Bee
*          Cassie Gains (of Lynyrd Skynyrd) (previously inducted earlier this year)

For those unaware both Jody Miller and Wanda Jackson serve as the honorary spokespersons for the SHINE Foundation, a program founded by County Commissioner Brian Maughan.  To honor their incredible contributions to this organization and for their impact on Oklahoma, the SHINE Foundation has put this entire series of events together as a token of their appreciation.  The SHINE Foundation has raised the funds to underwrite this endeavor.  Additionally SHINE has partnered with those listed at the top of this email to further extend this celebration into an even more special day.  Because of Wanda and Jody's efforts, SHINE has been supported by Merle Haggard, Kris Kristofferson, BJ Thomas, Alan Parsons, Mickey Gilley, and Gene Watson as well.  For more information about the SHINE Foundation and it's efforts here is the 30 min documentary that aired on PBS:

For more information or any further questions contact:  Brian Maughan 405-824-3120